Skip to Content
Sinclair College


Find info & services specific to you:


Community Bands

Community Bands

For information contact Dr. Kenneth Kohlenberg at 937-512-2753 or

The Community Concert Band and Community Wind Symphony were organized in 1977 by Dr. Clarence Walls who served the Division of Fine & Performing Arts for 27 years, first as chair of music and then as dean.

Professor Kenneth Kohlenberg has conducted the Community Bands since 1987. The Community Bands are composed of woodwind, brass and percussion musicians from Sinclair and the greater Dayton area. Membership includes students from high schools and colleges, music educators and instrumentalists from a wide variety of professions. Rehearsals are scheduled each Monday evening for the Concert Band and each Wednesday evening for the Wind Symphony from 7:15 to 9:00 p.m. during the fall and spring semesters.

The Youth Wind Ensemble was formed in 1999 for area high school musicians and is supported through the Sinclair Foundation Val P. Hattemer Endowment. The Youth Wind Ensemble rehearsals are on Tuesday evenings in the spring semester. All groups concertize regularly on campus and throughout the greater Dayton area during the academic year. Performances include the best of traditional and contemporary literature for both the large Wind Band and smaller ensembles.

The Community Bands have commissioned and premiered works by Claude T. Smith, Steven Reineke, David Gillingham and John Parcell. The Wind Symphony has recorded two record albums on the Coronet label, two compact discs on the Mark label, and has appeared in concert at the 1983, 1987, 1990, 1996, 2000, 2002 and 2010 Ohio Music Education Association state conferences.

The bands have drawn high praise from guest artists who have performed with the groups, including composers and conductors: Claude T. Smith, Robert Jager, Frank Ticheli, Jack Stamp, Mark Camphouse, Samuel Hazo, and soloists: Armando Ghitalla, Joseph Lulloff, John Kurokawa, Frank Kaderabek, Brian Bowman, Elsa Ludewig-Verdehr, Harry Watters, and Allen Vizzutti.

Professor of Music Kenneth Kohlenberg conducts the Community Concert Band, the Community Wind Symphony and Youth Wind Ensemble, teaches a variety of music courses and serves as Program Director for Music. Before coming to Sinclair, Dr. Kohlenberg held similar positions at Westmar College, Eastern New Mexico University and Dakota State College. He has also taught in the public schools in Michigan. Dr. Kohlenberg received the Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of North Texas where he studied conducting with Eugene Migliaro Corporon. He received a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Michigan, a Bachelor of Music from Michigan State University, and a Master of Music from MSU where his major was instrumental conducting, studying with Stanley DeRusha. Featuring music of symphonic bands and wind ensembles, Dr. Kohlenberg hosted programs on Dayton Public Radio, 88.1/89.9 FM, from 1990 to 2000. He has contributed over thirty articles for ten volumes of Teaching Music through Performance in Band, published by GIA. Dr. Kohlenberg is a frequent clinician and guest conductor throughout the Midwest. His professional memberships include Music Educators National Conference, College Band Directors National Association, Ohio Music Educators Association, National Band Association, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia and Pi Kappa Lambda.