Skip to Content

Four Sinclair Community College Students Named to 2023 All-Ohio Academic Team

Four Sinclair Community College students are being recognized for their excellence in academics, leadership, and community service as part of the 2023 All-Ohio Academic Team. 

Sinclair Community College students chosen for the 2023 All-Ohio Academic Team: 

Second Team
Micaela Zagal

Third Team
Corey Hare
Amira Mohamed
Chance Zoe Tuyishime

Sinclair’s honorees are among 74 students from Ohio’s 23 community colleges who were honored during a special virtual event on Friday, April 28, 2023, by Ohio Lt. Governor Jon Husted and Department of Higher Education Chancellor Randy Gardner. The event was held as part of celebrations of Community College Month in Ohio.

The All-Ohio Academic Team program is a collaboration between the OACC, Phi Theta Kappa national honor society and Honda, the event sponsor.

Sinclair’s honorees are members of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the international honor society of two-year colleges. Nu Pi is the PTK Chapter at Sinclair Community College. Membership offers students opportunities for personal growth and development of leadership skills by focusing on Phi Theta Kappa's four Hallmarks: Scholarship, Leadership, Service, and Fellowship.

The top-performing students were nominated by college faculty, staff, and leaders. Students recognized as first-team honorees receive $500 scholarships, while second-team members earn $250 scholarships to assist students transferring on to universities to complete their bachelor’s degree requirements. The All-Ohio Academic Team also includes high-achieving students who are planning to move directly into the workforce.


Photo Caption:

Sinclair Community College nursing student Micaela Zagal (left) and communications student Chance Zoe Tuyishime (right) were selected for the 2023 All-Ohio Academic Team. Micaela is an international student from Peru and Zoe is an international student from Rwanda. Both students are members of the Sinclair chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of two-year colleges.