Current Theatre Productions

One Hot Season for Sinclair Theatre 2017-18!

Performances happen in Building 2 and we invite you get IN2 the excitement! The Theatre & Dance Department showcases their students LIVE on stage in the 447-seat Blair Hall on the first floor as well as the new multi-faceted 100-seat Black Box Theatre on the fourth floor.

Ticket information online beginning Sept. 1st at:

 
 
 

 

Production Schedule

Blues for An Alabama Sky

By Pearl Cleage
Directed by Kimberly Borst

Fri., Oct. 6 – 8 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 7 – 8 p.m.

Sun., Oct. 8 – 2* p.m.
Thurs., Oct. 12 – 7* p.m.
Fri., Oct. 13 – 8 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 14 – 8 p.m.

Blair Hall Theatre
$18/15 plus Throwback Thursday $10

*ASL Interpreted Performance

The conflicting political currents of the Harlem Renaissance are seen through the eyes of 5 passionate African Americans who have been influenced by Josephine Baker, Margaret Sanger, Langston Hughes and other contemporaries.


Radio Plays

Directed by Nelson Sheeley

Thurs., Nov. 2 - 7* p.m.
Fri., Nov. 3 – noon & 8 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 4 – 8 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 5 – 2* p.m.

Black Box Theatre
$8 general admission

*ASL Interpreted Performance

Before podcasts came radio plays which were insanely popular during the 1940s. We’ve selected 3 contemporary examples of plays focused on sound from the horror genre. If you didn’t scare at Halloween, give us the chance now.


A Charlie Brown Christmas

By Charles M. Schulz
Based on the television special by Bill Melendez and Lee Mendelson
Stage Adaptation by Eric Schaeffer
By Special Arrangement with Arthur Whitelaw and Ruby Persson

Directed by Gina Kleesattle
Music Direction by Katherine Frauman

Thurs., Dec. 14 – noon*
Fri., Dec. 15 – noon & 7 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 16 – 2 & 7* p.m.
Sun., Dec. 17 – 2* & 4* p.m.

Blair Hall Theatre
ALL seats $8 -- reserved

*ASL Shadow Interpreted Performances

Back by popular demand, this holiday show has become a sell out family tradition at Sinclair! First shown as an animated TV special based on Charles M. Schulz’s Peanuts characters -- this adaptation is LIVE ON STAGE as the gang grapples with the meaning of Christmas.


Fahrenheit 451 

By Ray Bradbury
Directed by Gary Minyard

Fri., Feb. 9 – 8 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 10 – 8* p.m. (Library Saturday)

Sun., Feb. 11 – 2* p.m.
Wed., Feb. 14 – 10 a.m. (high school matinee- call 937-512-2076 for reservations)
Thurs., Feb. 15 – 7* p.m.
Fri., Feb. 16 – 8 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 17 – 8 p.m.

Blair Hall Theatre
$18/$15 plus Throwback Thursday $10

*ASL Interpreted Performance

A classic novel brought to life reminding us that books are at the soul of knowledge: “They just might stop us from making the same damn insane mistakes!"


Blood At the Root

By Dominique Morisseau
Directed by Chris Harmon

Wed., Apr. 11 – 7 p.m.
Thurs., Apr. 12 – 7* p.m.

Fri., Apr. 13 – 8 p.m.
Sat., Apr. 14 – 8* p.m.
Sun., Apr. 15 – 2* p.m.

Black Box Theatre
$10 General Admission

*ASL Interpreted Performance

Inspired by the racially divisive case of the Jena Six involving black teenagers accused of an attack on a white schoolmate, the play delves deeply into racism, homophobia, violence and unfair social structures. Interlocking prejudices and grievances are laid bare, yet the story screams for improved communication between us all.


Moving Languages (Dance)

May 18-19, 2018 – 8 p.m.

Blair Hall Theatre
$8 advance/$10 door

Movement is a universal language with dance as its creative key. Join us for an exhibition of talent from students of all walks of life.


Tickets will be available by September 1st at: www.sinclair.edu/tickets