Upward Bound

Due to office relocations, the Upward Bound office will be closed Thursday, March 29, 2018 and will re-open on Monday, April 2, 2018 at 2 p.m. in the new building location noted below. Learn more about the construction and changes happening here www.sinclair.edu/thecenter

Program:

Upward Bound is a federally funded, pre-college program that helps students complete their high school education successfully, enroll in, and graduate from college.

All program services are designed to assist students with academic, social and cultural skills necessary to complete a course of study at a post-secondary institution. Services include:

  • Weekly After-School Tutoring
  • Thursday Sinclair Campus Instruction
  • Saturday Sinclair Campus Instruction (Twice a Month)
  • Test Prep: OGT, PARCC, EOT, EOY, Accuplacer, ACT
  • College Visits
  • Cultural Activities & Overnight Trips
  • Summer Academics & Internships
  • Seniors Earn College Credit
  • Educational Technology
  • College Credit Plus Support
  • Career Readiness
  • Community Service Projects
Program Size:

Sinclair’s Upward Bound serves 149 students each year.

Eligibility Criteria:
  • First-generation college (neither parent has earned a four-year degree) and/or
  • Low income
  • Belmont HS, Dunbar HS, Meadowdale HS, Ponitz HS, and Thurgood Marshall HS
  • New applicants must be enrolled in the 9th, 10th, or 11th grade
Cost:

$0

Application Dates:

Year-round acceptance

Program Contacts:

Fax: 937-512-2382
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Location: Building 12, Room 12382

Staff:

Arcentra Heyward, Part-Time Academic Advisor | arcentra.heyward@sinclair.edu | 937-512-2331
Camille Patty, Academic Advisor | camille.patty@sinclair.edu | 937-512-2331
Jackie Gabone, Part-Time Academic Advisor | Jackie.gabone@sinclair.edu | 937-512-2331
Joshua Copeland, Academic Advisor | Joshua.copeland@sinclair.edu | 937-512-2331
LaChelle Johnson, Data Technician | lachelle.johnson@sinclair.edu | 937-512-2331
Nika Commodore, Part-Time Academic Advisor | nika.commodore@sinclair.edu | 937-512-5331
Ryan Anloague, Part-Time Academic Advisor | ryan.anloague@sinclair.edu | 937-512-2331