Students Win at College Theatre Festival


Sinclair Theatre student Patrick Hayes won the Regional Costume Project Award for his design of Hamlet at the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival held Jan 3-8 at the University of Illinois. In addition, Hayes won the Make-up Design Award for his participation in the festival's Design Storm competition.

Les Dersham, who graduated from Sinclair's Theatre Technology program last fall, received a Certificate of Merit for his scenic design of I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change (the first in Sinclair's new Studio Series). Abigail Willis received a Certificate of Merit for her dramaturgy for The Women of Lockerbie.

Sixteen Sinclair Theatre students participated in the annual festival. Four Irene Ryan Acting Award nominees competed with their partners among 250 candidates from undergraduate and graduate programs across a five-state region. The teams included: Chris Hahn/John Ray, Angela Dermer/Allison Husko, Isaac Hollister/Josh Smith and Jenna Burnette/Michael Marvin.

Becca Sebree and Shelley Bookheimer also presented costume designs in the Theatre Technology Division. Six students: Patrick Hayes, Olivia Ciupak, Joselane Robinson, Patty Smith, Becca Sebree and Shelley Bookheimer took part in the new on-site competition, Design Storm. Students also took part in workshops covering topics from acting and playwriting to lighting, set design, costumes and stage flight.

The Festival also offers opportunities to see 8 fully-realized productions presented by colleges and universities across the region including several original works, musicals, dramas and a restoration comedy.

"The week is packed with theatre and networking opportunities for our students," says Stephen Skiles, Chair of Sinclair Theatre and Dance. "We are extremely proud of our students and continuing our long history of participating in KCACTF."