Annual Creative Writing Contest

Sinclair Annual Creative Writing Contest

Eligibility: Open to those writers who have received no payment for published manuscripts in the category they are entering (payment includes free copies of journals in which their work has appeared). Previous first and second place winners are ineligible to enter categories in which they have won. They may, however, enter other categories. Sinclair faculty, staff and spouses are ineligible.

How to Submit: It is easy! Go through Sumittable at

Adult: Fiction, Poetry, Creative Non-Fiction
High School: Fiction, Poetry, Creative Non-Fiction

Entries must be entered here on Submittable by March 31, 2017.

All entries should be typed (double-spaced for prose entries only). Full name and address and PHONE NUMBER should appear in the upper left corner of each entry with title of the manuscript. Place last name and title on the top of each subsequent page.


  • Prose must not exceed 5,000 words.
  • Poetry must not exceed 100 lines per poem.

Members of the Sinclair Community College faculty will select the winning entries. Winners will be notified by phone in March.

If submitting through Submittable: Fees are $7 per adult entry; $5 per high school entry. However, five poems will be considered as one entry. As many manuscripts as an applicant wishes may be submitted, along with appropriate fees.

Questions? Contact Professor Rebecca Morean, Director
Creative Writing Contest, Sinclair Community College

at: 937 512-3187 or


Winners: The winning entry in each category will receive $60. Second place in each category will receive $30. Third place in each category will receive $20. The above winners along with those receiving honorable mention will receive certificates suitable for framing. Contest winners will be presented awards during an April ceremony at Sinclair Community College. Winners need not be present; awards will be mailed.

IMPORTANT! The winner of all categories will be awarded an Antioch Writers' Workshop (AWW) scholarship which includes a full tuition waiver to a week-long workshop from July 8-14, 2017. Other first place winners will receive a scholarship to the Saturday AWW or may use their partial scholarship toward the full week.

AWW 2017 Faculty include keynoter John Scalzi, Lori Rader-Day, Kathy Fagan, Matthew Goodman, Tim Waggoner, Crystal Wilkinson, Susan Pohlman, Julie L. Moore, Kristina McBride, T. J. Turner, Janet Irving, Jessica Strawser, and visiting agent Elizabeth Kracht and visiting editor Kevin Morgan Watson.   


Creative Writing Contest 2016 Awardees

Fiction, Adult

Christina Dendy, “Carousel”

Poetry, Adult

Michael Daughtery, “Gone”
Antioch Writers’ Workshop Full Scholarship
Stephanie Coates, “Words We Speak to Strangers”
Christine Pudvan, “In Winter”

Creative Non-Fiction, Adult

Kyrie’ Owen, “The Only Thing”

Fiction, High School

Sarah Benson, “A Table At Antonia’s”
Grace Jackson, “The Photo”
Andrew Rohnkol, “Inizio”

Poetry, High School

Owen Horner, “Close to Home”