2013 NIA Award Winners

The NIA Awards are presented annually to showcase, celebrate and nurture achievements in creative arts, academics, mentorship and leadership by Sinclair students, faculty, staff and community members. The award honors African-American members of the Sinclair community who exemplify the principle of NIA (purpose).

Congratulations to this year's NIA Award winners:

Student Award—Zaria Gray, biology major, Phi Theta Kappa member, Student Government Association and Ohio Fellows

Staff Award—Mortenous Johnson, Interim Manager, Student Leadership Development/Student Judicial Affairs

Faculty Award—Dona Fletcher, Professor and Chair, Sociology and Geography

Community—Rev. Jerome McCorry, President and CEO, The Adam Project, Inc.

Diversity Champion—Dr. Mary Gaier, Vice President, Organizational Development

The awards will be presented at the NIA Awards/GospelFest event on Friday, March 1 in Blair Hall Theatre. Refreshments will be served at 5:30 p.m., with the program beginning at 6:45.

The event is free and open to the public.